All I Want for Christmas Is a Few Dull Moments

Santa 1Dear Santa

Sorry to bother you, I know you have sacks full of letters to process, but this year I just wanted to ask you for one thing; a few dull moments.

Don’t get me wrong I am not unhappy with my life and if it was always peaceful and calm I’m sure I would soon be very bored!! But it would be nice to have a few moments, or even a couple of hours once or twice a month that are void of drama and crisis.

Moments free of constant demands and the white noise of children and barking dogs.

Moments without phone calls from social workers updating us on the latest sibling situation.

Moments free from texts and emails and the school phoning to tell me Winnie is dangling from the top of the climbing wall while everyone else is eating lunch.

In actual fact it would just be nice to have a shower on my own without toys being thrown at my head, or go for a wee without someone running off with the toilet roll.

I think I have been a  fairly good girl this year? I’m not sure if being guilty of stealing the children’s chocolate and occasionally nagging my husband is enough to get me relegated to the naughty list? Let’s hope not!

So on Christmas Eve I will leave you an extra large glass of Baileys and one of my Mum’s delicious mince pies, in the hope that you will be able to fulfill my wish for 2016

Thank you in advance

A slightly worn out middle-aged mother xxx

7 thoughts on “All I Want for Christmas Is a Few Dull Moments

  1. This is Fantastic! I can relate especially around this time of year. The anticipated excitement of Christmas has all the kiddos on a permanent hyped up status. It’s such a treat when/if someone allows my wife and I to go out for the night. Sometimes we don’t talk on these dates. It’s nice to just sit and listen to your mind formulate thoughts about stuff that you’re interested in. 😀 Thanks for this creative post.

    • Thank you! It’s always good to know you’re not the only one feeling like this 🙂 I hope you get a night out soon! My Mum asked us what we wanted for Christmas and we said a night off@

Leave a Reply

